Hello. And Cashew Chicken.

Cashew Chicken

I have no idea what I’m doing with this blog, I just felt like fiddling with setting it up. Currently, it’s set up to look like my sadly neglected Tumblr account, but that may change. Whatever, welcome to it.

I don’t have my camera at the moment because I let my son borrow it, but I think I’ll start with a pic I took a few weeks ago, of cashew chicken that I made and posted to my Pinterest account. That’s a big batch of it in my cast iron wok. I don’t take great pics, but I’m working on that.

The recipe is here, at RasaMalaysia.com, if you want to try it.

This is one of the few recipes that I don’t change (much). It’s perfect the way it is, and mildly flavored enough that most kids seem to like it. Other than multiplying it to feed more people, the only tweaks I make are to spice it up, either adding Huy Fong Chili Garlic to the sauce, or replacing the sugar with Thai sweet chili sauce.

I definitely advise not skipping the baking soda pre-soak. It makes a real difference in the final product. The baking soda step also works really well to tenderize pork, so it’s a good trick to know. I’ve yet to try it on beef. Also don’t skip the oyster sauce. It’s the key ingredient for getting that Chinese restaurant flavor in your stir-fry sauce.

Leave a Reply

